Sharpening the Drills


As Audubon went to press, the U.S. Senate, in a 51 to 49 vote, took a major step toward drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, one of the last great wilderness areas on the planet. There is little doubt that this activity will disrupt the Porcupine caribou herd during its annual migration to the coastal plain to give birth to and nurse its young. More than 100 bird species from 5 continents and 50 states migrate to the plain as well. Meanwhile, the amount of oil extracted from the Arctic Refuge will barely affect the country's rising dependence on foreign supplies, compared to the potential savings from conservation and alternative energy sources. Despite the vote, several legislative and administrative hurdles remain before drilling begins. Leading Senate opponents have vowed to continue fighting at every turn. To let your senators know you how feel about their vote, call them. The number for the Capitol switchboard is 202-224-3121. For updates, go to www.audubon.org .

Democrats (Anti-Drilling) Baucus, Mont.; Bayh, Ind.; Biden, Del.; Bingaman, N.M.; Boxer, Calif.; Byrd, W.Va.; Cantwell, Wash.; Carper, Del.; Clinton, N.Y.; Conrad, N.D.; Corzine, N.J.; Dayton, Minn.; Dodd, Conn.; Dorgan, N.D.; Durbin, Ill.; Feingold, Wis.; Feinstein, Calif.; Harkin, Iowa; Johnson, S.D.; Kennedy, Mass.; Kerry, Mass.; Kohl, Wis.; Lautenberg, N.J.; Leahy, Vt.; Levin, Mich.; Lieberman, Conn.; Lincoln, Ark.; Mikulski, Md.; Murray, Wash.; Nelson, Fla.; Nelson, Neb.; Obama, Ill.; Pryor, Ark.; Reed, R.I.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.Va.; Salazar, Colo.; Sarbanes, Md.; Schumer, N.Y.; Stabenow, Mich.; Wyden, Ore.

Democrats (Pro-Drilling) Akaka, Hawaii; Inouye, Hawaii; Landrieu, La.

Republicans (Anti-Drilling) Chafee, R.I.; Coleman, Minn.; Collins, Me.; DeWine, Ohio; McCain, Ariz.; Smith, Ore.; Snowe, Me.

Republicans (Pro-Drilling) Alexander, Tenn.; Allard, Colo.; Allen, Va.; Bennett, Utah; Bond, Mo.; Brownback, Kan.; Bunning, Ky.; Burns, Mont.; Burr, N.C.; Chambliss, Ga.; Coburn, Okla.; Cochran, Miss.; Cornyn, Tex.; Craig, Idaho; Crapo, Idaho; DeMint, S.C.; Dole, N.C.; Domenici, N.M.; Ensign, Nev.; Enzi, Wyo.; Frist, Tenn.; Graham, S.C.; Grassley, Iowa; Gregg, N.H.; Hagel, Neb.; Hatch, Utah; Hutchison, Tex.; Inhofe, Okla.; Isakson, Ga.; Kyl, Ariz.; Lott, Miss.; Lugar, Ind.; Martinez, Fla.; McConnell, Ky.; Murkowski, Alaska; Roberts, Kan.; Santorum, Pa.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Specter, Pa.; Stevens, Alaska; Sununu, N.H.; Talent, Mo.; Thomas, Wyo.; Thune, S.D.; Vitter, La.; Voinovich, Ohio; Warner, Va.

Independent (Anti-Drilling) Jeffords, Vt.

© 2005 National Audubon Society

Sound off! Send a letter to the editor
about this piece.

Enjoy Audubon on-line? Check out our print edition!